About Us

Board of Directors

2023-2024 Scheduled Meetings

The agenda downloads and public comment form will be available prior to each meeting date.

The TxSSC is advised by a Board of Directors consisting of 17 members required by statute to convene a minimum of four times per year. The board is required to be composed of the attorney general, the commissioner, the executive director of the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission, commissioner of the Department of State Health Services, the commissioner of higher education or designee or any of their respective designees. In addition, governor appointments to the board include a juvenile court judge, member of a school district’s board of trustees, administrator of a public primary school, administrator of a public secondary school, member of the state parent-teacher association, teacher from a public primary or secondary school, public school superintendent who is a member of the Texas Association of School Administrators, school district police officer, a professional architect who is registered in this state and a member of the Texas Society of Architects; and three members of the public. The responsibilities of the board include the following:

  1. To approve the TxSSC’s budget for programs that further the TxSSC’s legislatively prescribed purposes or responsibilities and that fall within the TxSSC’s express or necessarily implied powers.
  2. To report to the governor, the legislature, the State Board of Education, and the Texas Education Agency by January 1 of odd numbered years a biennial report. This biennial report shall consist of any findings made by the TxSSC regarding school safety and security and the TxSSC’s functions, budget information, and strategic planning initiatives.
  3. To advise the TxSSC.
  • Bill Avera

    School-Based Law Enforcement

  • Craig Bessent

    Superintendent, Chair

  • Kerri Brady

    Professional Architect

  • Vacant

    Public Primary School Administrator

  • Vacant

    Member of Board of Trustees

  • Bryan Hedrick

    Member at Large

  • Robert Martinez

    Office of the Attorney General

  • James M. Mosley

    Juvenile Court Judge

  • Lillian Nguyen

    Health & Human Services Commission

  • Teresa K. Oldham

    Member at Large

  • Noe E. Perez

    Public Teacher

  • Shane Sexton, MS LCC

    Texas Education Agency

  • Michael L. Slaughter

    Public Secondary School Administrator

  • Jill M.Tate

    Texas Parent Teacher Association, Vice-Chair

  • Alawan Thomas

    Texas Juvenile Justice Department

  • Alan Trevino

    Member at Large

  • John Wyatt

    Texas Higher Education

    Coordinating Board