School Safety Law Toolkit

Senate Bill 1556

Requires the establishment of the School Safety Task Force and School Safety Certification program. The School Safety Task Force is comprised of the chiefs, directors, or their designees of the Texas School Safety Center (TxSSC), Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM), the Advanced Law Enforcement Rapid Response Training Center (ALERRT), and the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service. The task force will study best practices for school multi-hazard emergency operations planning until September 1, 2017, at which time the task force will be abolished. It will consider input from stakeholders and will make recommendations to the TxSSC and the governor's office of homeland security. Its findings and recommendations will be reported to the legislature every other year. The TxSSC, in consultation with the School Safety Task Force, will develop a School Safety Certification program that awards districts a certificate for adopting and implementing a multi-hazard emergency operations plan and demonstrating that the district conducts a number of emergency drills at least once a year, such as lockdown and evacuation drills. Additionally, the TxSSC will no longer be required to develop security criteria for districts to consider when designing instructional facilities.

See section in the Texas Education Code:

School Safety Certification Program.